Plans Change!

A stunning bus ride from Gordon’s Bay to Vic Bay on the Cityliner. Uber disaster, Checkers blessing and hoping the surf awaits me along with a hot shower!

Ha! So throw me a few curves balls why don’t you universe!

Took the plunge to leave and do the work remotely instead of doing it in dust land. A few personal issues were causing tension and without the extra volunteers nothing was going to happen on the site itself. I am disappointed as my vision for the last few months has obviously been different to just sitting on a laptop.

img_5502

I booked my bus ticket, 325r which is about 20 pounds for a 6 hour trip. I worked the day out until time to uber it across to bus station which was apparently 15 minutes up the road!

The car arrived and off i went but…When Your gut says something then bloody listen, this Bru had no idea where the hell he was going ,even from the sat nav and obviously I hadn’t a clue either…. I had left 40 minutes to get there but now in the car I knew I wouldn’t make it! 1hr 21 minutes  later and a crazy expensive uber ride I was back on site. We had ended up driving in a huge misshapen circle around, the end of the journey being a corrugated community where they were bbq’ing animals brains on the side of the road, huge groups hanging around and to be honest not a nice vibe. The fact also I had used up all my mobile airtime calling the bus company made it even more of an edgy situation, all the warning and stories I had been told about safety were now ringing through my head! Another night on site! I was so angry, furious and disappointed I didn’t even know what to say. First lesson in never to fully trust an Uber when it is very new in a country.

img_5503

Kindly I got driven around (for about an hour) to a “Checkers” kind of like a post office in a supermarket, where someone was on my side and changed my ticket to this morning! With only a 10r difference! That was a result! Why did we drive not call or use the internet? Because that would be too easy for South Africa to adopt, old school way is the way here!

So back to the pod I finished all my peanut butter, re made my pod and went to bed spending the night bashing mosquitos with my trainer and surrounded by my bags that I moved in with me as the dogs were going crazy and I thought if someone gets in then seeing how the day had gone I was better to be safe than sorry!

I luckily got dropped at the bus stop and had company thankfully until I got on it correctly, and am now on it excited to see the countryside and get to my next destination Victoria Bay!

img_5295-1

And wow what a trip!!!!! Out of Gordon’s bay up the mountains and a beautiful country side exists behind the wall of mountains encapsulating the Cape! Im Heading to George which is east along the coast line between Gordon’s bay and Port Elizabeth. It went from windy mountain range to incredibly vast beige land that just went on and on as far as I could see. Some horses and cows along the way but more scrub land than farmed.

img_5308

Ever so often we would come across a little town, Swellendam was so pretty and a teacher from my old high school has a beautiful b&b there and is heavily involved with the children in the community which is an amazing synchronicity in what I think I’m here for, its far from the beach but the community looks lovely but behind that it is incredibly in need of role models and support for the children!

As we hit town I see the ocean for miles, finally surf, waves for days. Also again a mass of corrugated iron hut communities, then industrial buildings and then lovely homes, the contrast is insane in this country!

img_5315

The longer the journey goes on the more I become intrigued as to where this journey is actually going to take me! So many options and exciting projects around, it feels a little out of my hands as to where I will end up but I think this may be the beauty and the personal challenge of my adventure! This country has so many places and reasons one can help and make a differnce, i really hope i find the place i am ment to help!

Nearly there can’t wait to see what greets me this time! A warm shower I hope! That it did get along with the most spectacular grounds and views I could of imagined! Sometimes the decisions you don’t want to take can be the best.

IMG_5327

 

Leave a Reply

